Home of News | Views | Reviews & Much More

Join the discussion and stay upto date

Harmanpreet Kaur Will Be India’s Next Leading Captain Shikha Pandey Will Play in the 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup

Team India has been assigned to Group 2 of the 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup, with England, the West Indies, Pakistan, and Ireland.
The All-India Women’s Selection Committee chose India’s team for the tri-series in South Africa beginning in January and the forthcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 on Wednesday. Harmanpreet Kaur will captain the team, with Smiriti Mandhan serving as her deputy. “The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 is set to begin on February 10, 2023, with Team India opening their campaign against Pakistan on February 12th in Cape Town. India is in Group 2 alongside England, the West Indies, Pakistan, and Ireland. Following the end of the group stage, the semi-finals will be contested between the top two teams in each group. The championship will be held on February 26th, 2023.” A statement was released by the BCCI.
Shikha Pandey, a veteran pacer, made a surprising return to India’s 15-member roster for the Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa in 2023.
Shikha last played for India in October 2021, when she was controversially withdrawn from the squad. Her presence also demonstrates the lack of depth in the fast bowling department. The 33-year-old, whose specialty is swinging the ball, has played three Tests, 55 ODIs, and 56 T20s.
Despite mediocre results in India’s 1-4 series loss to Australia, Jemimah Rodrigues has kept her spot in the team.
Anjali Sarvani, a left-arm pacer who made her debut against Australia, is also in the team. Renuka Thakur and Pooja Vastrakar are two more fast bowling possibilities whose place in the team is contingent on fitness.
The Australia series showed India’s bowling weaknesses, and the squad still has a lot of work to do before the ICC tournament. Deepti Sharma and Devika Vaidya, as well as Radha Yadav and Rajeshwari Gayakwad, are among the spinners on the team.
Shafali Verma and Richa Ghosh have already joined the U-19 team in South Africa.
Team India will compete in a tri-series event beginning January 19, 2023, before to the T20 World Cup.
India’s roster for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 includes Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice-Captain), Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Richa Ghosh (wk), Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Radha Yadav, Renuk
Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice Captain), Yastika Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, Renuka Thakur, Meghna Singh, Anjali Sarvani, Shushma Verma

    error: Content is protected !!